Face Your Fears or Perish

6a00d8345170ec69e20133f5be50dd970b-800wi

Margaret Shepard said it perfectly, “Sometimes your only available transportation is a leap of faith.” In a society where perception and reputation not only shape who we think we are but also who other people think we are, we all spend far to much time regulating and limiting how we express ourselves. Instead of calling or texting someone when we feel like it, we stop ourselves and play games. Rather than telling someone how we feel about them, we hold our tongues and act like we don’t care. People these days use the words “fear” and “afraid” as some kind of shield against taking responsibility and making changes. Just because you recognize and state allowed that you are afraid of something, you are not magically absolved from facing those fears and fixing your behavior.

There are some simple things you can do to challenge yourself and face your fears. Im not saying it is the easiest thing to do but if I can do it so can you. A couple of years ago I had an epiphany, a true to my very core epiphany. I realized that you only live your life one time. You get one shot at this and you are only here on this planet one time. (That you remember if you believe in reincarnation) Nowadays people run around saying “you only live once” to explain their reckless actions or shit like “YOLO” because its trendy. They don’t actually believe it deep down and they certainly don’t live every moment like it will be their last. I try everyday since the day it really sunk in to experience life to the fullest even if it comes at the expense of my pride or ego; even if I embarrass myself or people think I’m crazy.

When I want to talk to a guy that I like I call him. If I miss him then I tell him so. If he isn’t responding quickly enough to me then I jokingly tell him so. If I am upset about something I heard about or see something that I don’t like I will address it. If I want to hang out with him then I invite him over. I know it sounds simple but thats because it is. It is as easy as conquering yourself. Put your ego aside, lay down your pride and bust through your own walls. It may be scary and uncomfortable but it is up to you to push through that. Your life is only as complicated as you want it to be.

So for the future:

Leave a Reply

